In Tribute of Love

Posted: February 1, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My parents have been married 17 years today.

I’m 31. The math isn’t hard. The dad I’ve been exponentially blessed with isn’t biological and that is the most insignificant drop of fact in the world. Dad is the definitive example of a man. He’s shown me how to be a lady, how a man should treat a woman, how not to settle for less. I have his personality- his stubbornness, his tenacity, his sense of humor, his nerdiness, his awkwardness, his type of passion for things that strike my fancy, his argumentativeness. Dad taught me to cook, sans recipe. The level of frustration we send my mom to when he and I get in the kitchen together knows no limit- she always asks what we added/did. We shrug our shoulders; we don’t know. We just create. I am his daughter to my core.

My Marmie and I tend to butt heads. We don’t see eye-to-eye. But she lets me be me. She cheers me on when I doubt my path. She holds me on the couch when I need a hug. She lets me cry and rant when I don’t know why I’m crying or ranting. Mom taught me how to love music, not in lessons and books, but with melodies and singing. My beautiful mother has experienced the shackles of oppression and hardship and poverty to, in the end, stand. She may be battle-scarred by the fight, but she still stands. Marmie has taught me to endure. She’s taught me faith. She’s taught me to seek God, to praise Him no matter how low things get. I’m a better woman because of her.

We live in a society that throws in our faces romance is dead, yet I still see grand gestures by a quiet man. The world has become tone-deaf and children grow up not knowing good music, but my ears are filled with beautiful melodies. Our pop-culture once celebrated marriage, now fights against it, but my parents are an humble beacon and example.

Happy Anniversary, mom and dad.

Comments
  1. Papa says:

    Thank you, you know as we read what you wrote we where both in tears. I love you so much you always seem to know the right notes play. I when I read the things you right I don’t understand why every one isn’t reading you. Maybe I am just prejudice, Duh of course I am. I am conservitve what was I thinking.
    Love Papa

  2. Jeannie says:

    Thank you Ruth, we love you and all our children so much. It definitely has been a hard road, a journey that has many stories but we (all of us) have prevailed and it would be no small thing to say our children have had a big hand in the success or our relationship. We are “family.”

Leave a Reply

