One Year

Posted: April 13, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Today, April 13th, marks the one year anniversary of being a published writer for Misfit Politics. If you have no clue what that is stop now, click the link, and check them out. I’ll be here when you come back.

Are you back? Good. As I was saying, today is my blogging anniversary. It’s been an amazing year. I’ve traveled more than any other time in my life. I’ve met the most amazing people. Followed history-making stories. And worked with the best staff on the planet. Seriously, the Misfit staff has become family and they are the best group of people.

This journey started with a back problem, no joke. I was laid up for two days and bored. I didn’t have a t.v. or computer, just my dinky iPhone 3GS and a constant Twitter stream. I knew nothing of Echofon or Tweetdeck or lists or any fancy social media at the time. While staving off boredom and attempting to ignore the pain I struck up conversations with random people on Twitter- one of them being a Misfit Politics contributor. The rest fell into place and on Friday, April 13th, 2012 my first post went up. Go ahead and take a moment to stop and read it here.

This journey has blown my mind. Really, it has. I keep saying, “Life is an adventure, go live it,” and the past 12 months have been no exception. I’ve tucked several states under my belt, stayed in gorgeous hotels, created recipes with which I fed famous politicians and activists, mourned, rejoiced, nearly fainted, created a calendar, upgraded my tech, and experienced so much more than I have the space to write or you have the time span to sit and read. I am very blessed to have been given the chance to pick up a dream I had laid down for 10 years.

Here’s to the first year. To all the moments that have inspired me. Here’s to late nights. To staring at a computer for eight hours at work then going home to stare at my laptop for another 6+ hours. Here’s to the untold amounts of caffeine that have fueled the every crazy conference, event, weekend, news cycle, and epic rant. To the wifi hotspots that have been my saving grace when it came time to podcast at a random location.

Here’s the band of Misfits that took a chance on an unknown and have become home no matter what city I’m in. To the friends across the country who’ve held me up when grief struck me down. Here’s to passion that keeps me fighting. To the inspiration, no matter where it comes from. Here’s to the challenges that have made me better. To the mistakes that have taught me. Here’s to the victories that have sent me soaring. To the defeats that have humbled me.

Here’s to years to come. To the adventures that are yet to be embraced.

Leave a Reply

