Journey Through Gratitude Part 2

Posted: December 1, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Today officially ended the Thankful Challenge my mom, sister, and I set out to complete 365 days ago. When we began I couldn’t fathom the impact it would have on me or that it would even do more than force me to be on Facebook everyday no matter where I was or what I was doing. This year has seen some incredible highs and devastating lows but through it all the challenge pushed me to focus on the important and best parts of life.

Here is my final thankful post of a challenge that turned out to be a journey to self-discovery:

Day 365: I admit for the past couple of months I’ve been wishing this day to come. Not because I haven’t enjoyed the journey but because it’s been the one thing holding a chapter of my life still open. Now that the final day is here I’m a little sad. You see, I’ve invested 12 months of my life into pushing through, no matter the challenges, and seeking the gems that are hidden in the mountain that is everyday life. Today and this post marks not just the close of a life chapter but the full completion of it. Many times when a project or task became “too tough” I’d come up with an excuse to quit and then quit leaving a feeling of failure in the empty place that was left. So today, on my last day of this journey and this chapter I am thankful for finishing a task. I’m thankful for fighting through to the end. I’m thankful for going beyond present circumstances and overcoming myself. I’m thankful that in this challenge I found a better me.

God bless you all for traveling this road with me.

Leave a Reply

