Journey Through Gratitude Part 1

Posted: November 16, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

My journey began December 1, 2011 after a challenge from one of my sisters to express thankfulness for more than just one holiday in the year. We were to each post on Facebook one thing we were thankful for everyday for an entire year. We started out with my sister, my mom, and me. A few people have joined and dropped through the year. My sister’s newest family addition and a toddler have focused her time on her and her husband’s beautiful family. I can’t blame her for missing a day here and there. My mom is tackling a full house including caring for my grandmother who lives with my parents. Mom has kept up well considering those challenges. I’ve missed exactly one day after falling asleep from sheer exhaustion one night recently. When I woke I posted for the previous day and later posted for the current day.

In 15 days this journey will end. When it began I thought, “I can do this. This will be easy.” As the days turned into weeks, I began looking to line up thankfuls for 2-3 days ahead of time. As months passed I began to wake up with the goal of searching for a reason to be thankful. When hard times hit and I wanted to give up on the journey, I’d look back at how far I came and realize to quit would be to nullify all the previous posts. And as my life has changed drastically these past 11 1/2 months I’ve found grounding in knowing at the end of the day I still needed to come back from the whirlwinds of life and remember to say, “Thank you,” for something no matter how small.

Leave a Reply

